I “Like” the new Facebook Security Feature

Facebook introduced a security setting that sends you an email telling you someone has just logged into your account. At first, I didn’t want to try it. I thought I would unable to login on my phone & other computers, but I was pleasantly surprised.

To set up and enable notifications

1. go to “Account” upper right hand corner

2. in the drop down menu to “Account Settings”

3. in the main menu go to “Account Security”

4. click “Yes” next to “Would you like to receive notifications from new devices”

5. the same can be done with text messages if you have your mobile plugged into Facebook. But don’t have your mobile displayed on your page publically.

6. Log out then log back in and it will ask you to identify the computer.

I did this on 2 PCs and a phone. It didn’t ask me to identify the phone, but it did send me an email:

“Your Facebook account was accessed using Facebook your Dell Laptop. When I signed in from my other laptop, I was giving the opportunity to enter “Dell Laptop.” When I received an email from Facebook it told me the time that I accessed Facebook and “Dell Laptop”

If this happened without your permission, please change your password immediately.

If this was an authorized login, please ignore this email.

To change your password:

1. Log in to your Facebook account.
2. Click the Account tab at the top of the screen and select “Account Settings” from the drop-down menu.
3. Scroll to the Password section of the Account Settings page.
4. Click the “change” link on the right and follow the instructions.

Thanks,
The Facebook Team”

Thanks Facebook, Keep it up!

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree